snowlines

Camping At Six Thousand Feet

 The snow line is at six thousand twelve,
still I fish along the shore, around the bend
from the caved-in bank my setter tunneled through
while chasing the scent of otters, three dog-lives ago.
Ralph, Sam and Annie. Names of children
I would never have. What doesn’t happen
sometimes is more real. I bait my hook
not to catch a fish, but to listen to the reel,
the cast and spin of a six-pound test line,
to the plunk of a leaded weight breaking
the lake’s surface. Evening is setting in
and clouds fall, through the slopes of pine.

On the far shore, I can see the blue
of our pitched tent. He’s over there now,
wrapping potatoes in foil to bake in the campfire.
I cannot hear it, but I know my music box
is on the tailgate next to his camp stove.
He sings to wind-up waltzes and wears a red-light headlamp
for cooking in the dark. Later, he’ll wear it backwards
when he takes me inside the tent. I will lie on my back
and watch the shadows we produce. And listen
to spring run-off spill into the calm of Emerald Lake.
Like a mouth stifled by my hand, the deep basin
muffles the creek’s final plunge.

 

Published by Naugatuck River Review, a beautiful bi-annual print journal for narrative poetry. And hey, finally a photo credit I can claim as my own!

About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

8 responses to “snowlines

  1. still love this poem…and the photograph is a worthy addition. Well done!

  2. Rose Hunter

    I love this poem too. And the photo. And “What doesn’t happen
    sometimes is more real.” Aha. 🙂

    • redmitten

      rose- i was told so many times to take that line out of the poem, but that line is what the poem is for me. i can so easily focus on what never happened. i think most people walk around with what never happened to them being a driving force in their lives.

  3. Gorgeous, simply gorgeous. And made me feel so very calm. Great use of colors. No wonder this got snatched up. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

