angry basket

build me ~ rebuild
my river ~ stock pond
and Corrientes ~
cattails and green
rush ~ ripples die ~
wet sky ~ white
lies ~ scratch floats
~ every story

Photo by William O’Keefe

About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit and YB Poetry Journal. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

14 responses to “angry basket

  1. Karla Linn Merrifield

    Ooooo!

  2. the way the poem builds, the rhyming/repeating sounds, the excellent title – i agree with karla: Oooooo!

  3. I keep coming back to this angry basket.

  4. I like the semiotic nature of this poem and the relationships formed within each line which seem to be polarised ie. build-rebuild…river-stock pond…lies-his every story… for example, and this is even reflected in the photograph (no pun intended) with the colour in the background and the no-colour in the foreground, the tall vertical rushes against the horizontal ripples too, the dark against the light aspects of the picture.
    Poems are vessels I think, containers, and I wonder what may really lie in this basket, this angry basket?
    Whatever it is, whatever the true meaning of the narrator, this poem gives something of itself, not least a sense of place, but clearly there is more than that. Please pass on my congrats to the photographer too, such images have to be ‘seen’ to be captured. Enjoyed.

    • redmitten

      i especially like what you’ve shared about poems being vessels/containers. and yes, what really lies in this basket? something she cannot control?

      i’ll let my father know you like this photo. it is one of his favorites, from a place called broadwater bay, i believe. and your take on how the photo’s contrasts reflect the story- oh, my. spot-on.

  5. Rose Hunter

    😦 Burro. 😦
    Your angry basket scratches me, and speaks for me too. But his “every story?” I know, of course…. But just saying. To say it misses the point of an angry basket, but sometimes that happens too. 😦

  6. Kerry

    Is that your dad William O’Keefe? Tell him his eye is spot on! I am reminded of something in a song with these words…good for my ‘sad’ week. Thanks Sherry.

    • redmitten

      yes, this is my dad. the most irish, most montanan father one could likely know. he’ll enjoy hearing his photo has been enjoyed. i am sorry for your sad week. this has been a hard year for you. what song…?

  7. Sherry, a technical question. Have you mastered formatting/indentations on wordpress? I have not.

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

