lobby talk

 

Little boy in the lobby:  The sky wakes up when I do.

Divorced wife in the lobby, talking about her ex:  Well he was always tall. I mean, at least I hope that he still is.

Husband talking to wife on his cell phone: Just pick nice colors.

Farmer talking to farmer in the lobby: We were two dry days from seeding. We were almost there.

To Do List found on table in the lobby: Finish Camping.

Teenager with backpack, sitting on the lobby floor:  I don’t know how to get from there. I can’t even find calm water.

Courier Driver giving directions to an elderly couple in the lobby: Oh I know where you mean. It’s in between two streets.

And as for the man who would rather this be a poem:  It’s your turn to walk to Missouri.

 

 

About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit and YB Poetry Journal. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

13 responses to “lobby talk

  1. Rose Hunter

    People can shrink….

    AWESOME!

    It works so well here!

    I keep mis-reading lately…. Teenager with backwater? There is something wrong with me.

    Two days dry from feeling? OK that one was deliberate. Not the other ones though. I think I am just not paying attention at the moment. My head hurts. To distract myself I went searching something golden and came up with a telegraph pole.

  2. Rose Hunter

    I twittered it. You should get on Twitter so we can twitter.

    Campaign to get Sherry on Twitter: all those who agree…??

  3. John

    Only stubborn people walk to Missouri

  4. Such splendid catches.

    Came to you via Janelle.

    A terrible T-shirt on a dreadfully down-at- heel skinny, older guy with ratty little dreads:

    IT’S ONLY FUNNY TIL SOMEONE GETS HURT
    THEN IT’S FUCKING HIlARIOUS

  5. Rose Hunter

    While we are walking through the backwaters….
    Hey! New Blogaroo design cool!

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

