>someone else’s lobby

>

Frankie, the owner’s cousin, is in the lobby reading our newspaper. I’m always thinking I should write about Frankie, but this is all he does: Watches the lobby TV, reads the lobby news; waits for a chance to visit with anyone who isn’t busy.

(This is me being busy.)

(It is still April in poetry land and I still have five more poems to write.)

And the photo is from my nephew. We can call him He Who Knows How Fast A Bee Can’t Fly.  Up until recently he ran an engine crew during Montana’s wild fire season. And then he thought how fun it’d be to be a lineman. And I thought I’d lift his photo because of all the metaphors that came to mind.

And then I suddenly felt like Frankie in someone else’s lobby, climbing someone else’s pole, stealing someone else’s photo.

(This is me realizing I won’t ever write a lineman poem. Which means I still have five more poems to write.)

(This is me getting back to work.)

About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

8 responses to “>someone else’s lobby

  1. >Oh, but it's April, and I am desperate, so I might write a lineman poem!

  2. >kelly! write it! i already know i'll love it.

  3. >Gosh, now I might have to write a lineman poem!

  4. >kathleen! sign me up to read it when it's drafted! i might end up writing one afterall!

  5. rox

    >Witchita Lineman (lyrics)I am a lineman for the countyand I drive the main road.Searchin' in the sun for another overload.I hear you singin' in the wire,I can hear you through the whine,and the Wichita lineman is still on the line.I know I need a small vacation,but it don't look like rain.And if it snows, that stretch down south won't ever stand the strain.And I need you more than want you,and I want you for all time,and the Wichita lineman is still on the line.

  6. >It is good to have a job that there's a song about. Did Jim Webb write that one Rox?

  7. >And I say, that there isn't a lineman poem today does not mean that one will never be. Happy remaining poetry month.

  8. rox

    >@ Ann:Yup. And if you want to hear the fellow who made it famous (Glenn Campbell) go here:http://youtu.be/4qoymGCDYzU

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

