>throwing rocks in dallas

>

I miss being here, but it is April – the month for poets and poetry. Some poets participate in Write A Draft Every Day No Matter What. The theory is if we keep forcing ourselves to be tuned (available) to some sort of channel, we start tuning in easier, quicker, and our ability to fine tune increases.
Does it work when it happens? Yes, when I am able to tune in, I start to notice more colors, finer tunes, the grace of nature. Does it result in better poetry? I say it results in more consciousness. Um, if that can be measured in quantity.
Before we learn to crit ourselves and before we learn to see us as others see us, we start out knowing we are creative. At one point in our lives we all believed we could draw. We all knew how to hear the sun. The photo here is a series of self-portraits of my daughter’s kindergarten students. This is how they see themselves. If we were asked to draw ourselves, under what constraints would we draw? April is the month to rid ourselves of constraints. You know, it’s time to remember what the sun sounds like. Time to remember which one of us was throwing rocks and time to quit keeping track of what time it is in Dallas.
Nothing herein should be construed as being the writer’s opinion. The April muse has her writing a poem about throwing rocks in Dallas.
About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

7 responses to “>throwing rocks in dallas

  1. >(I'm telling mom you're throwing rocks in Dallas.)

  2. rox

    >These portraits are lovely but as an artist I wonder why the entire kindergarten class look like Japanese Anime?

  3. >in these last few days of april i'm going to concentrate on ridding myself of constraints. thanks for the reminder sherry. and best wishes for a lovely holiday weekend. xo

  4. >I am often convinced I am not a writer. It's the thing that motivates me the most.

  5. >What an interesting concept, to draw yourself with innocent eyes! Childrens pictures are always so raw and real…the little things which they find are paramount in describing that which they see. Pure and genuine.

  6. >I once threw someone's decorative rocks (the kind you put down instead of lawn) out into the cul-de-sac where I lived as a girl. And I mean a whole slew of rocks. tons of rocks into the street. Needless to say my mother made me pick them up.This post reminded me of that afternoon. =)

  7. >Now I don't want to do anything but listen to the sun and watch constraints sliding away. Is there enough left of April to see this come true? Oh, wait. We can write in May, too.

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

