>drawing the line at pineapple

>

One of my favorite notes from my daughter. She’s one of two of my favorite sources for poetry. I tell my kids they are Walking Poems. They roll their eyes and grin at each other. They are used to the way we talk to each other. For example, when she debriefs after a day of teaching six-year-olds with an assortment of special needs, she tells us she draws the line at pineapple in the pocket.
And her brother and I nod our heads. We know exactly what she means.
**
Here’s a quote that I’ve been wanting to share with everyone touched by the poetry gene.
Do you know the book, Lit, by Mary Karr? Mary’s memoir is like reading page after page of poetry. Her prose is easy to skate across, and yet you slowly realize the pond of water is filled with poetry.
She shares this quote from The Philosophy of Symbolic Forms:
“The same function which the image of God performs, the same tendency to permanent existence, may be ascribed to the uttered sounds of language.”
**
April is the National Poetry Month. Many of us poets are trying to draft a poem each day. While I think that some of my blog posts are poetry in disguise, I am taking the time this month to extract more of the poetry from some of my blog posts and turning them into drafts.
When I find a way to draw the line at pineapple in my pocket, I’ll know that I’ve arrived.
About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit and YB Poetry Journal. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

5 responses to “>drawing the line at pineapple

  1. >Looking forward to Natl. Poetry Month here, pineapples or not.

  2. >I do think your blog entries are poetry! Glad to hear you are also working at poem-a-day poems, as am I!!

  3. >Your blog is one big poem to me…so lovely, each one you write.

  4. >between the mashed potatoes and pineapple, brilliant. i've not read carr's book, but have heard a lot about it. thanks for the suggestion.

  5. >i've had my head deep in poetry (or: poetry has had my head). really super to hear from you. such encouragement!

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

