>icicle

>

Of the two photos my father emailed to my Blackberry in the middle of the night, I open the one he’s named Chop. The other one, Self Portrait with New Necktie, is one I can’t bring myself to open. Not yet. Instead, I start my day earlier than usual. I take a photo of an icycle icicle hanging from the eaves of my house. The colors of a winter sunrise are distorted when looking through the ice. I’ll send that photo to him before I go to sleep tonight now that I’ve looked up how to spell it.
icicle: noun: a pendent spear of ice formed by the freezing of dripping water.
On my early drive to work, Hewhowatchesmoviesfromthebackporch calls with today’s weather forecast. He’s surprised I am already out of bed and on my way to work. He just got off night shift so he knows how snowy our roads are and (surprise) he’s watching I Love You, Man. Did I know, he asks, it was filmed at Venice Beach? Remember where we found that great parking place in the shade of a rundown garage’s awning one alley from the beach? Everyone else was parking a mile away, but not us. We had found a secret parking spot.
Oy, I remember. So does he. He tells me that for years afterwards he would sometimes drive to Venice Beach to see if anyone else had discovered our spot.  
icicle: M.E. isykle, from is “ice” + ikel “icicle,” from O.E. gicel (rel. to cylegicel “cold ice”), from P.Gmc. *jekilaz (cf. O.N. jaki “piece of ice,” dim. jökull “icicle, ice, glacier”). Dialectal ickle “icicle” survived into 20c.
In how many ways can something keep hurting?  I am driving up the slick hill to my office, thinking about this but I don’t say it out loud. Instead I tell him about my dad’s latest emails and how I don’t want to open the Necktie shot just yet. Moviewatcher-Parkingspotrememberer clears his throat.
I flip my left-turn signal on and ask if his movie has reached the sad section, but he says no– he was just remembering my dad back when we were together. Remember how your dad took photos of his radiation mask when he had throat cancer? He measured it and emailed everyone a photo of the mask, the diagram, the radiation table, and the prognosis of oxygen tubes someday hanging around his chest.  
Traffic clears. I turn left and bounce across my office’s icy parking lot. I turn the engine off and sit in the silent pickup cab, phone held against my ear and listen to him tell me: Taking photos and documenting pain are forms of detachment which help your dad find the courage to deal with what he must.
icicle: A pendent mass of ice tapering downward to a point, formed by the freezing of drops of water or other liquid flowing down from the place of attachment.

About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit and YB Poetry Journal. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

4 responses to “>icicle

  1. >the image is so appropriately symbolic. That poor tree. surviving snow every year for decades, making so many new branches reaching for the sky, yet being hacked back, stunted, thwarted and destroyed.no longer a sheltering home for other living creatures. but still alive, and given the chance, would still send out shoots in the spring.if shed in a bleak place, tears freeze into icicles too.

  2. >In how many ways can something keep hurting? I suspect in however many ways there are. The hope is that the hurt fails to get that deep purchase and goes on its way. With your names as prompts, I plan to do some naming of my own, NeveradmitsreadinganythingI'vwritten. Damn places of attachment.And…my post today is a thank-you for the Stylish Blog award. xo

  3. >My dad did the same thing, minus the photos. But then he documented his life in 15 minute intervals. I guess he thought his journal might be needed some day in a court case. His last words, a written note before they wheeled him in to render him unconscious for the hook-up to a ventilator, "What is happening to me?"It's nice that your dad has art (and you) on his side.

  4. >Sending love, comfort, solace.

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

