>on the corner of 5th & wesson

>

I buy groceries at the same store I shopped when my toddlers fit in the grocery cart. The butcher knows to wrap my meat in 1/4 pound packages –the babies are adults now. Everyone knows everyone, even when they don’t. There is a general sense of neighborness going on.
Sunday I stopped to buy  bananas and red potatoes. The clerk, the one with the crooked grin, was wearing an oversized Eagles NFL t-shirt. She chatted about how every employee in the store was cheering on the Eagles today because it was her favorite team. Eagle bling was everywhere. I swiped my debit card, she bagged my produce. Behind her, two other cashiers worked at their own registers. The dark-headed high-school clerk had just finished loading water bottles into a customer’s cart. He grabbed a sheet of cardboard and a black marker. Scribble scribble scribble, then quickly  held it over his head so I could read it: We hate the Eagles! 
Behind him, the short and dumpy assistant manager, right wrist in a carpal-tunnel wrap, reached under his counter, producing a bright orange poster: Go Broncos! Eagles suck!  I grinned. My clerk grinned back and handed me my receipt.
About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

6 responses to “>on the corner of 5th & wesson

  1. >Smiling a lot at this! Secretly!!

  2. >Oh I envy you with the snow…and living in a small quaint town.

  3. >Uh Oh…looks like a battle is waging at the local shop! Funny how a corner store can be the Town Hall of sorts…nothing like mixing sports fans and bananas…things could get messy!

  4. >Hi Sherry,What an experience. I don't know whether to feel bad for your clerk or good. Hmmm. Were her fellow employees mocking her behind her back, or, sparing her feelings, and letting her enjoy her team spirit? It's interesting she returned your grin meant for another (could be a scene in a story!). I love the photograph, though he is a bit creepy. It took a lot of work to make that snow sculpture. I love your use of specific detail, even in this simple post: stopped to buy bananas and red potatoes. It makes it all real, and sets up questions in the reader's mind.

  5. >I find the camaraderie around sports so interesting. Why do we root for our favorite team as if the energy projected will make a direct difference?Love the head snow sculpture.

  6. >yep, nothing like mixing it up with bananas and eagles bling! what we do to spice up our day, engage in living with others. someone spent …gosh…how many hours making a snow sculpture? and others at the store go to great lengths to have fun with the football season. (each week, it's a different team, different bling).

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

