>slipping in on a silver fog

>

He’s waiting for the fog to clear, he can’t see past the steps on his back porch. I’m still in bed, slightly sleeping — aware of the contrast between my warm comforter and cool blue sheets. There are ten miles or more between us. The sun has yet to rise. He calls to tell me he’s waiting for the fog to clear because he has a three-hundred-mile trip to make in order to retrieve a snowboarding son stranded without a ride. To the other side of the divide and back. I mumble something about kitty litter, back-up-Hershey-chocolate-bars ,being safe and then I fall back into a sort of grizzly bear sleep.
I’m still in sleep mode some time later when my cell phone announces a text message: look outside. see what slipped in on a silver fog.
At first thought: just step out on the back deck with the camera. No reason to get dressed.
But from the deck, I was lured down a flight of slick steps. The bird feeder was beckoning me.
 
From there: twenty more shots of frost. I forgot I was dressed in long boxers and a t-shirt. Sans socks. Sans mittens. Sans coat. Sans any common winter sense.
About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit and YB Poetry Journal. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

7 responses to “>slipping in on a silver fog

  1. >That kind of scenery would make me forget common winter sense as well! How gorgeous these photos are…such a magical day.

  2. >Frosty days are magic.You captured it well.

  3. >while trying to take some macro-photos,i managed to sink in a hole the pups had dug next to one of my dead trees. snow on bare ankle– that is what i should have named this post. the frost is gorgeous, isn't it.

  4. >Who needs common sense when there is such magic outside the door. What beauty there is in a Montana winter.Amazing photos…..

  5. >I could be under the sea watching the coral grow.

  6. >Hi Sherry,This is a foreign landscape for me, and a beautiful landscape. Thank you for sharing these photos. I think I'd be out the door and down the steps, too, without any jacket or common sense. I love how you start with the warmth, then the cold, and then the excitement.

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

