>sans canoe, sans castle

>

Catching frogs in a pond, tipping precariously from a canoe. This was what I had in mind when I whined I was in the mood for fun. Something and somewhere outside my daily drive between work and home and work.
Lately, I have the days memorized. I can move through them in my sleep. Nothing here feels new.
In photography class a few weeks ago, we walked into Lab 116 and were greeted by a large photo of King John’s Castle in Ireland. Our instructor had a point to make. In our search for the remarkable, we tend to dismiss what is all around us. We’ve seen what there is to see, we’ve tasted what there is to taste.  My classmates and I nodded in agreement as he shared his diagnosis with us.
He pointed to the photo of the castle, telling us he grew up two hundred meters from its walls. Only when he moved to Montana, asking where our castles were, did he realize how remarkable his former surroundings are.
Here, castles  are all about hay fields and silos. (Perhaps a sister shepherding with a snake-flinging hoe.)

I haven’t the funds to fly to Ireland in order to revitalize the way I see my world, to reboot my own taste buds. In the past, tipping out of canoes was a sure way to reboot.
With this in mind last weekend I ventured out and about, beyond the fields — finding a pond and a pole sans canoe. I walked the water’s edges  lined in mud and brittle cattails. I didn’t wish once for a canoe — I was too caught up in new discoveries.
About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

6 responses to “>sans canoe, sans castle

  1. >That shot of the field…pure gold!

  2. >Isn't it wonderful to see the world that is so familiar in a different light? I think thats what I love about photography…anything ordinary can become extraordinary. P.S Whats the squishy marshmallow thing by your tire?

  3. >Wonderfully artistic framing of your remarkable finds.

  4. >Leave those frogs alone…they're in enough trouble already!

  5. >Hi Sherry,It's definitely easy to ignore what's in front of us. I've been looking at a lot of art lately, and I find I notice faces more, both the shape and the expression; and in architecture and landscape, qualities of pattern and light. I'm enjoying your photographs.

  6. >when we were little and road-tripping around montana my mom would get caught up in harvest- which fields had yet to harvest, which fields were baling, etc. ….and now, i feel like my mom because i see so much beauty in a freshly baled field. as far as the squishy thing goes, i swear it was not my frosted mini-doughnut. who knows how long it had been since it had been dropped…i liked how close the tire got to it. (kass- i find it helps if i squat down and change the angle of view) (rox- where is your piece about all the frogs crossing the path?? c'mon now…admit you are a writer) thanks everyone. it seems to me we are all on the same sort of wavelength!

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

