>chuck sawyer circa 2010

>

 
Tom Sawyer needn’t live inside a book. Remember how he charmed others to whitewash his fence? Remember how it felt to open his book and step inside his adventures? Somewhere nearby he still lives.
When we sit inside our homes and offices, sometimes we get an unnamed yearn. For what we don’t know, hence: unnamed yearn. Some of my friends may not call so often anymore because I have become an advocate of going for a walk with a camera. Call me, find out. Tell me the dark is not dark enough, tell me even your pizza tastes like mud and carp. I’ll say – get a camera and take a walk. Send me back the photos.
You’ll say- but what will I take pictures of? And I’ll say- you’ll know when you find out.
And so. Over this past weekend someone sent me photos of an area they are so familiar with it was hardly worth the walk. But they walked the walk they always walk, but this time with a camera. They came across The Beaver Plan.
How did they know they came across The Beaver Plan? Because it said so on the back of the diagram  they found. A diagram rolled up in twine with a pencil secured to the bundle. The bundle secured to a log. A beaver-gnawed log. 
  
If any of us had gone looking for this, we wouldn’t have found it. Perhaps one hundred years from now we will be reading a book about Chuck Sawyer trapping beavers in Montana, and how one day  his plans were stolen from a secret place. And how two days later the plans showed back up, as though they’d never been gone at all.
About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit and YB Poetry Journal. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

7 responses to “>chuck sawyer circa 2010

  1. >Oh, the wonder of it all… the places that exist out there and the mysteries.Be it a child, a hunter, a homeless person or Chuck, it lives in the imagination of a place called "unnamed yearn". It's why I walk with a camera.Wonderful, just wonderful.

  2. >Wow! I wouldn't want to be that beaver! I don't think I'd want to eat it either, if that's what the picture is showing…an aquired taste I've heard. Some native Indians do eat it, although it must be very greasy. What a strange find, that plan. Just goes to show…always have your camera at hand!

  3. >I am a fool for other people's plans, the less fathomable, the better. Everything about this lessens the unnamed yearn. For today it is enough that the collective "we" continue to hide notes to ourselves and that they are found, puzzled over, and restored. We are an enigma.

  4. >we grew up in a remote power camp along the missouri river. our folks put the fear of beavers into my siblings and me. one shake of the tail and our legs could break, they said. at the time, i was busy building homes for snails in a small canal, searcing for crawdads in shallow ponds, cracking open milkweed, building caves – now i extra admire today's kids with their beaver plan. (though i cannot imagine it would taste good!) restored notes, marylinn- yes!

  5. >Hi Sherry, Whenever I take a walk now, I take a camera. You never know what you will see. One of the delights of walking is how, even in an urban area and a well-traveled path in a compromised wood, a branch will fall, a spider will weave, and a quality of light will change.

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

