>upstream from black eagle

>

Today’s shot comes from my father’s camera. He emails me around two or three almost every morning with shots from the day before. His words are sparse. What he has to say about this? Upstream from Black Eagle. I know exactly what he means.
In this way, poetry is all around me. And when I say me, I include you, too. We have only to listen to the way we speak. (And then jot it down on a scrap of paper before we lose the beat.)
Yesterday I called the roofer who has yet to reshingle my roof from the tornado incident we experienced in June. I listened to his wife flip through schedules and work orders, looking for detail regarding my house. Oh, you are the triple tear-off. Since then, I’ve been thinking about what that means. When I look in the mirror, I wonder if others see what she saw in me.
It’s not always just about the cadence in our words — our words can also reveal what we see when we look. My sister and her husband have some of their straw for their sheep farm stored on another man’s land. Where would these straw bales be? Underneath the main power line where you look toward the Birdhead country…you know, through the chicken wire gate.
About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit and YB Poetry Journal. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

7 responses to “>upstream from black eagle

  1. >Hi Sherry, I like what you have to say about rhythm and cadence, and what we choose to see. When I write, a first line comes to me, setting the rhythm and the sound and the tone. It is so important for me to write it down, and to keep writing, or some essential element, the key to the rest of the passage, will be lost.

  2. >This is so interesting. Country property in particular, can have long descriptive definitions. The "cadence of Country"…. "Three telephone poles past the pond, on the left side of the road, where the road rises to a metal barn." And…. what do I sound like to others? Do they here the rhyme in me?

  3. >I love that: "Oh, you are the triple tear-off!" Why, yes! It kind of sounds like a good night out or something.I kind of want to meet your dad. He sounds cool.

  4. >Love this.Sometimes even the grocery list has a cadence.

  5. >What type of birdies they be?

  6. >oh, you are the triple tear-off………do i sense a poem coming on, sherry? i love how you intuit that cadence and bring it to the eyes of others………thank you

  7. >i see we all agree about finding cadence all around us. i so enjoy hearing from each of you and the way you each expand the point. what bright minds!by the time you see the second green metal roof, you know you've gone too far. that is another country cadence i heard the other day. and yes, what do we sound like to others? i'm due for a triple-tear-off experience(!)

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

