>notes for a future poem

>

Between the Missouri River valley and Roger’s Pass, the landscape is wide open. Framing the horizon are an assortment of buttes: Crested, Bird’s Tail, Crown and Sullivan’s. To the southwest you can make out the faint wagon trail of Mullan’s Road, one of the first “roads” built between Montana and Washington.

How far can you see?

You can see the curve of our Earth. A friend once told me out here you realize we truly live on a planet.

We passed one other car in a forty-mile stretch and in that stretch of time, we passed one tree.

…..had I seen what I thought I saw?

Time passed. We reached the mountains and the lake that needed a canoe. We found shade and cool water. Relatives from three corners of the globe gathered along the shore. Someone brought the hamburgers, someone else forgot the buns.

I fell in love with my brother’s grandson. (I might have to sneak a photo in here so you can fall in love, too.)

But all the while time passed, that tree stayed on my mind.

 I remembered the mile marker.

Returning home, everyone was filled with yawns. I volunteered to drive and because I drove, I gave myself permission to pull off a road with no shoulders.

Mother, Father, Daughter and Dog – they all tilted in their seats when  I parked the vehicle on a slope of crunchy prairie grass.

 No one wanted to hike back up the road with me. You know how it is, some things we experience alone.

About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

5 responses to “>notes for a future poem

  1. >I look forward to the future poem and will remember the photos and those who waited in the car.

  2. >The last photo of the Christmas decorations and fence line is priceless. Maybe if its there when the snow flys, you could take another shot for Christmas cards…although I love it just the way it is!

  3. >marylinn,i think of those who waited in the car, the way they tilted with the car when i parked it on the slant of the hill. they must have sat there, slanted all the while i was hiking back up the road to spend some time with this tree. hi kerry,i have this sense about you that if you were here, you and i would be making notes on the november calendar to make such an outing. we'd need four wheel drive (check), mittens (check), thermos of hot liquid (check), smart wool socks (check).

  4. >Like Kerry said, I love the composition of the photo, the line of fence and the wild Christmas tree. Your grandnephew is a great age!

  5. >hi annie,oh my grandnephew (i have two!) stole my heart. he is 1/4 navajo and at times the way he observes the world feels ancient. we all look forward to watching kasen delaney and his older brother, greyden, grow.

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

