>getting out

>

To someone I was saying for more than a little bit of time, I had been needing to get out of dodge. There I am, in the chrome’s reflection, taking a photo of the Challenger that helped me.

I’m back now. I no longer feel I am in Dodge. More on that in a bit.

About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

5 responses to “>getting out

  1. >Hey! Is that you in the chrome bumper?

  2. >Doh! Nevermind. You just said you were….

  3. >rox,oh yeah- that's me. my daughter and my brother and i spent some time shooting photos of his projects. sometimes when i take photos, i am aware that others are impatient for me to finish, but these two! they were enthusiastic about studying angles and lighting. at one point, we realized we could all be in the reflection of the bumper of the challenger. we had to squat down and not move while sherry figured out her camera settings. anyways, this car represents years of midnight work for my brother. he doesn't think of it as restoring a car as much as he thinks about preserving an era.

  4. >I equate restoring cars and vintage motorcycles with creating art, lovingly accomplished. It's almost as if the restoration expert is re-creating the entire design, shaping it back into existence.

  5. >hi annie,then yes, you understand this brother. *shaping it back into existence* is well-put. in listening to him talk with a fellow restorer, i realized how important it was to them to do things in the same manner as had been done back in those days. it's a bit like coming into contact with food made from scratch back in the day (collect the eggs, grind the wheat, haul the water bucket . . .) it is the process that they are drawn to, more than the final object.

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

