>announcing

>

Between my day job and evening work, I have been writing for a marvelous company which specializes in serious non-fiction for Young Adults. I’m really pleased to have received my author copies in the mail last week of my second book for Morgan Reynolds Publishing, From China to America: The Story of Amy Tan. Click here to explore more of what this publishing company does for the minds of our teenaged students.
And what else?
I’m pleased to announce a new poetry journal, Untitled Country Review, edited by Scot Siegel. The second issue features a poem which resulted from my experience in helping a friend in the last hospice days of his father’s life. Scot was wonderful to work with on some final editorial changes in the poem. I ended up with a stronger poem and I hope you’ll click here to read it. I hope you can spend some time clicking on the Front Door tab to read the work of others as well.
And what else?
A flash piece in Sliver of Stone can be found here. I won’t name any names, but the piece is biographical. Definitely click around in this issue as you’ll find some strong poetry in there as well.
And coming up, I have recently finished recording two of my poems which will appear in the upcoming issue at Terrain.org.  This journal focuses on environmental subjects near and dear to me. I think it took me longer to record the two poems than it took me to write them. I’ll post an announcement when the issue is released.
Ok, it’s awkward to sound my own horn, but it’s easy to sound the horn for these publications and publishers. How to type the sound? Woot woot!
About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

12 responses to “>announcing

  1. >Woot woot!Holy lotsa stuff going on! I love:Ocean water lapping Seattle’s shore. This saltwater with channel markers- how would it tasteand would he get a drink? 🙂

  2. >Congrats on getting into Terrain.org! Love that journal. Look forward to hearing you read ~

  3. >How wonderful Sherry!!! Doing a happy snoopy dance for you. *dance*

  4. >Congratulations! I'm happy to see all the good news, and I enjoyed reading your poems, flash, and other writers. Thanks for the links!

  5. UCR

    >Hi Sherry. Thank you for sharing your marvelous poem and for the kind words on the journal.

  6. >Of course you should toot your horn…all that hard work must be recognized. The 2 poems you linked to are very visual. Especially the mercenary…I see it all, the colours, the faces, the places. You have such a gift for revealing life through your words. Cheers.

  7. >Bravo!! Excellent announcements, all of them.I love that pic of the chair in shadow from yesterday's post. August is almost over; will you get some snow after that?

  8. >I will follow all the links you posted, but first wanted to say congratulations…so much good news, in one swoop.

  9. >Good work, Sherry! Congratulations!

  10. >Way to go, Sherry. Great poem and flash and congrats on the new books as well. You must work all the time.

  11. >thanks to all of you,it's hard to write this sort of post, but thank you for sharing in the good news. these publishers and journals spend considerable time to produce fine products, working with each of them has been a solid experience.

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

