>sorts

>

When out of sorts there are times I find myself in an obscure bookstore or along a river bank. Sometimes I rearrange the magnets on my fridge door.
Sometimes I find myself in line at the post office. Today I mailed a package at my favorite downtown (read that: old) post office. When I left, I realized I had a sheet of stamps in my hands. I have a book of Forever stamps at home and didn’t need these. But now I have this sheet of stamps and now I’m back in sorts. 
list of other perspectives from this week:
* the bear scat found on my sister’s sheep bridge.
* overhearing the lady in front of me at the post office talking about wearing her jury duty socks.
* a friend telling me he’d rather have real bees when he reads.
* the bag boy at the grocery store last night asking me if i still had any growing kids at home.
* reading a letter from an ex co-worker telling me his granddaughter is spoy old.
* knowing there is a row boat waiting in the dawn without oars.
* trying to remember who told me they were startled by blue.
* today is my parents’ 57th wedding anniversary. both of them can still outwalk their grandkids.
About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit and YB Poetry Journal. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

6 responses to “>sorts

  1. >How fun to sort through your perspectives!

  2. >It feels good when little things like the perfect sheet of stamps can make us happy, and back in "tune." Happy Anniversary to your parents!

  3. penjandrum

    >Those stamps are delicious to look at – and definitely much better than rearranging the fridge magnets (I do that).Happy Anniversary to your parents.Bears are rather worrying and I don't know what to think about about jury socks, but the others are delightful.

  4. >I think you have some great subjects for future writing…I especially like the man who wants 'real bees'…

  5. >It's nice to know that just as you can get out of sorts, you can get back "in sorts!" 🙂

  6. >kass,it's like having pocket change at the end of the week. always good to have a couple extra things to think about, or a couple quarters in your pocket.annie,after buying the stamps it dawned on me that it could take me all year to use them. by next week i will have forgotten where i stored them.penny,oh you do magnets, too!? everyone in my household over the years (except one unnamed person) has often realigned himself/herself by standing at the frig and realigning the magnets.kerry,i thought of you when he said that about the bees. every time you post about bees, i linger at your blog.rose,yes. and then, we work at trusting that we can bet back to in sorts and so when we are out of sorts, we can relax and allow ourselves to experience it for a bit of time.

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

