>finding a way home for my mower

>

Next time I see this, this beauty will be mine. My brother traded five comic books for three of these sweet lawnmowers. A step back to a quieter time. I wish we had had a recording device with us when he first showed me all three on his front lawn because each of the roller mowers had their own throaty sound. I think my red number carried the  alto-tenor range.
I could have it with me right now, but at the time could not figure out a way to haul it 221 miles back to my own house. Getting it back home will be an adventure someday.

I like adventure.
                                                                                                           (literary proof I like adventure)
( more proof )
 
Hewhotrades and I like adventure and old stuff. If I trade my 1943 Red Deer wall calendar for a tank of gas in someone’s pickup truck (by the way, did you know back in 1920 in Britain petrol was sold by chemists in tins?) perhaps I can find a way to get my push mower back home.

Here is some grass that is going to need mowing. It isn’t mine. The photo isn’t mine either, except it was taken by my camera, which means I retain 2/5ths ownership. 
And then this is the inside of the first chapter book I ever read silently to myself when I was seven. I own 5/5ths of  the book.   A neighbor down river from my childhood home gave my siblings and me hardcover books from her older childrens’ library. Over the years in all the trading that’s gone on within my family circle, this is one Old Stuff I won’t part with. It’s how my love for adventure began.  It’s what convinced my oldest brother and me, back in the day,  to hang our second brother (Hewhotrades) (fka: Hewhodanglesoverthedam) over the edge of a dam to retreive ducks sucked up against the headgates.
About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

9 responses to “>finding a way home for my mower

  1. >That steering wheel needs a necker knob.

  2. >The sound of a push mower on a hot summer evening with the ball game on the radio and a frosty beer on the steps….aahhh…the good old days…could be made true again.

  3. >A Saturday morning sound, the racheting of a push mower, for us of a certain age. Trading is swell, bartering and counter-offers until everyone walks away happy. To still have your 5/5ths of the chapter book is gold. I think the word nostalgia is a watering-down of the true emotion; what I wouldn't give to be back collecting plastic charms from the candy machine, so mom could sew them onto a hat for our brother. A summer's worth of pennies and daily walks around the corner to the "little store"…how did we every let the hat get away?

  4. >I dunno. I remember the push mower we had when I was a kid. We had an acre of lawn – all flat and I was paid $2 to mow it. Since then, I hate mowing lawns. I don't hate lawnmowers – just the part where you have to use 'em.

  5. >Hi Sherry, There's a great black and white family photo we have of my middle older brother mowing with a push mover, his whole body lifting up into the air, like he was standing on his hands, supported by the handles. He was about 14. That was some tough grass! What's the name of the children's book? The art looks familiar, or maybe just because it's art from the era.

  6. >Did Hewhodanglesoverthedam ever retrieve any of those ducks?

  7. >kass,young lady what do you know about a necker knob??kerry,i try to think about fifty years from now when my current gas-mower could represent the good ol days to my kids or their kids (not saying i am a grandma- which i am not…but still…)marylinn-i know about that hat. it goes with the tin of buttons i collected. i like to read books written in the 1920s-1940s. the language, the pace of life feels more considered.will,hey good to hear from you. yes, it's easier to think sweet thoughts of a push mower now that we don't have acres to mow. i grew up with brothers, but with parents who felt that girls needed to learn to do whatever boys did and vice versa, so i mowed the steep hills behind our country house. (and as the years pass, those hills become steeper everytime i tell the story!)annie,would enjoy seeing that photo! the book: the apple family. every child in the book was named after an apple. for example one boy was named McIntosh. the fifth child- well all the good names were taken up. so they decided to name her Ann. (an apple). rox,good of you to ask after hewhosurvivedhissister. yes, we retreived the ducks. depending on which of us tells the story, the number of ducks range from one to 30. i remember one duck. our oldest brother remembers dozens. seriously, we would take the duck(s) home and tell mom the duck(s) followed us home could we keep him. we would set up a carton in the basement but by nightfall the game warden would come by and get it. *sigh*

  8. >Love the duck story. Oh the fluffies! Why don't you get on Craig's List? Maybe you could get someone (a trucker?) to meet you part way with that lawn mower?

  9. >rox,well craig's list would make it contrived. and then (if i do ever get the mower) i will have to find room for it. which means i need to get rid of something. another trade. interested?

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

