>when we lose our laugh

>

                           Built like a fox terrier, this man has lost his laugh. He wears shoes intensely tied. He won’t admit when he’s upset — he’ll just untie his shoe. He’ll move aside the catalogs sitting on your desk, pull his pant leg up and set his foot upon the cleared corner.  Now he has something to yank on. How much tighter can he tie? He doesn’t seem to realize what he reveals when he ties his shoes. Today, when wanting to make an appointment for next Tuesday, he asked for an employment instead.     
This photo is not mine. I’d like to give credit to the photographer but it came to me without any credits.
About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

4 responses to “>when we lose our laugh

  1. >Tightening the laces already tightened, is definitely a "telling" detail, speaking of tension, self imposed, and without relief.

  2. >A very powerful portrait. Actually, it stopped me in my tracks and made me think, which is great. Since the man asked for "an employment," I imagine either a homeless man or someone who is down on his luck. The last sentence actually brought a lump into my throat, but I may just be bringing my own life too much into the read. Tying the shoes so tightly is an excellent indicator of his stress. I love that you use the words "intensely tied." It's very poetic and is a vivid image. I also love when a short portrait makes me think so much. This one really moved me!

  3. >I like this new form your writing has taken. It puts me in mind, a little, of James Tate's work in "Return to the City of White Donkeys."

  4. >hi annie,yes, watching him do was rather revealing. i felt for him. always good to hear from you.hi julie,good to hear from you here. when i heard " i want to make an employment for next tuesday" i got a lump, too. i appreciate hearing from you and others in here- helps me as i work at writing. how to much to reveal, how much to keep in the shadows.hi mike,hey, that is good to hear –i've been unsure of why i've been writing the way i have. i plan to spend some time looking up james tate's work. already found it in amazon, found it was way cheaper to purchase than a tugboat book. something new comes to me each time i hear from you.

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

