>in case of a bad day

>

There are phone numbers I call when I am having a bad day. I count on the call not being answered. I count on that because I want  to listen to the music on the other end while I wait for my call to not be answered. Today my son asked why I had called three times. I need to ask him next time what it is I am listening to. It isn’t this song. It’s like this only different.
I keep a list in my back pocket of phrases I read in books, phrases straight from my daughter’s mouth. She and I ran the pups just the other night. The list fell from my back pocket. We picked it up and I read the list to her. She doesn’t remember telling me about how she could watch the world go smash. We talked about another item on the list. I told her I had been thinking of how there could be such a sorrow that no matter how many languages one could say forgive me in, it still might not be enough. She said  – but what if you didn’t know how to say forgive me in any language. That could be more worse. In that case, I think, you should call my son’s phone number and listen to the song his phone plays. And until I figure out what the name of that song is, try listening to this instead.
About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit and YB Poetry Journal. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

11 responses to “>in case of a bad day

  1. >"…as the four winds blow my wits through the door…" hmm, not certain how reassuring – though not untrue – I would find those words. The collecting of phrases, spontaneous truths, especially from our children…and the sorrow so great that enough words for forgiveness cannot be found…I've come to know that we refuse to forgive at our peril. A closed heart can forget how to open.

  2. >Heard a Montana news story this morning that made me think of you. Glad to see you weren't in the way of that bear.

  3. penjandrum

    >That song is a tonic – and enough humour to dull the edge from the pathos of it. The Irish, in their music and poetry and literature do that so well. Penny

  4. >Ah, Sherry, good to be back browsing through your words. You help me keep the clear perspective of things. If there is such a thing.

  5. >I love your blog Sherry! I love the idea of calling numbers to listen to waiting music! (I may have to start doing that.) This song, I can't listen to the whole thing. It reminds me of an Irish bar in Toronto I used to go to a lot and I feel very emotional today anyway, already…. Also affecting me: "that no matter how many languages one could say forgive me in, it still might not be enough.":( Waa, life!I hope you're having a better day today.

  6. >Hi Sherry, I hope today was better than yesterday. I enjoy Flogging Molly, but I'd never heard this song. I think it's a good song to listen to on a down day. I love this line, "Hurry back to me, my wild calling…"

  7. >Again, you make me think. Getting…and giving forgiveness is such a tough issue sometimes. An elderly man once told me that the closer we get to the end of life, the easier it is to forgive or ask for forgiveness. I'll echo Annie and say that I hope your today is much better. Thanks for the song. Flogging Molly is awesome.

  8. >marylinn-you've zeroed in what i've been thinking about so much lately- what happens when we never forgive. not that forgiveness should be instant or automatic, but to not journey on that road is not healthy. the lyrics to this song made me smile- with the blend of cliche and twist. sometimes there is comfort in my bad day being identified. oh and i love the accordion (?) in this. rox,over the 4th, i was in cooke city, which is where these bears staged their attack. i think of all the years i've tent camped in similar situations- very sobering to read of this attack.they've since captured the mother grizzly and her three cubs. hi penny,yes, enough humor served up helps the bad go down. hey melanie,so good to have you back. i'm looking forward to what you share about your experiences. i imagine that will happen a bit here and there over a long stretch of time. i appreciate your compliment about perspective. (!)hi rose,oh (i mean..oy!) i know what you mean about hearing too much of this. and since then i found out the song is from dropkick murphy "the state of massachusetts".i've been wanting to write a poem with that line about so many languages and come up short every time. life, huh. yes.hi annie,the days are better again. i'm getting better (at times ) with not trying to skip out of the bad. just move straight through it.hi julie,forgiveness is a common denominator, but each of us are on separate journeys as far as how we have embraced this into our lives. yes, the older we get, the more we value it. i'm glad to hear you like flogging molly.

  9. >I have been so busy the past week but find such calmness in your blog…it always gives me things to ponder and today this fantastic song…cheers, mate!

  10. >i just re-read this post while putting together the Dec edition of Language and Place blog carnival…and I remember feeling touched the first time I read it. Thanks for sharing. -Nicolette

  11. >beautiful song and i love your post, too. a great entry to the carnival, sherry, thanks for sharing.

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

