>aung san, tan and jackson

>

Aung San Suu Kyi
This photo reflects the serenity we could tap into when we quit trying to feel serene. Too often I think I will have a serene moment after the dishes are done, the lawn is mowed, the bills are paid, the money is earned, all my flowers grown, and every trespass blessed. And all my words written in chapter form.
Serenity can be found in chaos, with dirty dishes in the sink, without every flower bloomed. For Aung San Suu Kyi, it can be found under house arrest. A political prisoner of Myanmar (fka Burma) for 15 of the past 21 years, she speaks of courage and forgiveness. She lives free from fear, all the while under house arrest and restricted from seeing her sons who live in Britain. When we hate, we allow fear entry to our hearts. With her love for all she leads us towards no fear.

I might have finished writing the bio of Aung San Suu Kyi sooner had I not stopped so often to examine my own fears. At times I felt I might sprawl out on her sofa — if she still had one — to experience the flow of her wise words wash over me.
Facing fear and/or not facing fear is a familiar theme. Fear of grief tops the list for me. I used to practice for it all the time. Some say that is Way Irish. I’ve learned it doesn’t help to practice our sorrows early. Last year at this time when a handful of my life’s pieces were up in the air, I was writing the bio of Amy Tan, author of The Joy Luck Club. Tan had lost her best friend and editor but didn’t lose her friend’s wise words: grief is finding the real heart of a story. Grief is what helps us reach the center of humanity and the balance of life contained within.
Between the Tan and Aung San Suu Kyi projects, I was asked to write a serious bio of Michael Jackson. Last year at this time, he passed away before he could find that balance of serenity each of us pursue. Researching and writing Jackson’s life story twanged on my heart. Clear away the debris of drama and the spectacular, one finds that center of humanity Tan found in her life. Jackson didn’t live long enough to learn what Tan shares in her work. Jackson didn’t live the life that could bring him the serenity Aung San Suu Kyi embraces all the while under lock and key. Finding the redeeming quality in each of us is core to Aung San Suu Kyi.
Morgan Reynolds Publishing has earned a fine reputation for its extensive collection of serious non-fiction it publishes for young adults. I’m rather pleased to announce the Jackson book, Spin, has reached the warehouses and bookshelves just this week. Tan’s bio will follow, but meanwhile I’ve been putting the final touches on Aung San Suu Kyi’s bio. Her country is gearing up for an election while she is under house-arrest. Perhaps if the election serves the junta regime well, her sentence might be commuted and she will be allowed to step away from her house. Each of these three people have touched my life this past year as I’ve written their biographies for a publishing company which feels there are solid lasting lessons to be learned when we read their books — a touch of serenity, even.
About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit and YB Poetry Journal. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

4 responses to “>aung san, tan and jackson

  1. >I feel blessed, when I hear of this woman, to be able to get up and leave my house to see friends and family. The photo really does tell of a courageous woman.Like you said, even in chaos we can find serenity. Look forward to learning more about Aung San Suu Kyi.

  2. >I was excited to read you are writing young adult biographies. I'm a Youth Services Librarian. An updated, comprehensive, informed biography on Michael Jackson is long overdue. I'll be looking forward to reading it, Amy Tan's biography, and Aung San Suu Kyi's biography. Did you have a say in choosing her, or were you luckily assigned to write about her? I'm sure your personal journey in confronting fears will lead to a book with emotional depth and resonance.

  3. >I am really impressed. Both unique people.MJ single-handedly SAVED the SONY Corp in 1983.Suu Kyi is breathtaking in her physical frailty combined with such spiritual strength.may both books go quickly to a second-printing.

  4. Whale

    >Indeed! I do enjoy your blog, Sherry!

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

