>vipassana

>

Vipassana is the Pali word for insight. I learned this while searching for a concrete understanding of the non-concrete world of intuition, which according to *cough* Wikipedia is:
” . . . regarded as a conscious commonality between earthly knowledge and the higher spiritual knowledge and appears as flashes of illumination. It is asserted that by definition intuition cannot be judged by logical reasoning.”
When I write poetry, I tap into the realm of intuition which oft-times disconnects me from the tangible world. How much can this be trusted I wondered while thumbing through the sheets of internet knowledge.
These are the words that kept popping up: instinct, inherent, inclination, innate, insight, individual, immune, inner-motive, introspection, imagination and inspiration. 
Yes, *I* times twelve!
Did we know that intuition is the third of three stages of higher knowledge? First comes imagination and inspiration. Not that we needed it, but this enhances our license to create. I feel better — now I understand better what  simmers beneath the surface. (And when I say understood, I mean to say I inuit.)
In my search to understand, I came across a quote from a favorite author, Pam Houston. Her pup, Dante, explained everything my own pup has always known even from our first meeting in the shade of Corey’s cornfield outside her puppy kennel next to an unnamed irrigating canal. Calgirl took one look at my kids and me and knew what Dante also knew about we humans. It’s taken me until now to learn how to listen to the pup channel:

“There are three principles to remember if you are to teach a human being anything, and they are consistency, consistency, consistency.They are such fragile creatures to begin with, with poor eyes, poorer hearing, and no sense of smell left to speak of, it’s no wonder they are made of fear. Some centuries ago they moved inside and with that move went nine-tenths of their intuition. It is almost unmerciful to make them live so long when they spend their lives in so much pain.”

About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

4 responses to “>vipassana

  1. >This post reminds me of when I was made to go bed when I was a kid. How I'd slip into a sort of meditative wakefulness watching lights from passing cars slip across the ceiling. I'd like to be there again but can't find the door. Thanks for showing me yours.

  2. >Thank you for your comment on my blog post. I love the raw feel of your writing here, and the land where you live. Glad to know you.

  3. >Living with the earth certainly does open up the intuition channel.

  4. >hi john,oh, those passing lights slipping across one's ceilings. were you convinced at times something else was slipping across? perhaps you are already there- lean back and look up. tell me what you see.hi maggie may-what a nice compliment, thank you! raw is a great word. i'm liking your blog as well.hi kass-i think so, too. it isn't so much about "nature" but about living with earth. it's taken me some time and actually, several talks with a good friend before i came to realize that my link is more to earth than nature. gosh, now i sound drifty!

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

