>No Photos, Please

>

This morning seven deer  were standing between me and my ride to work. My ride to work used to be called Derby on account of his one accident. Lately, his name is Jack on account of looking like a one-eyed Jack due to the crumpled blow near his left eye…er…headlight. I could take his photo and show you what I mean, but really it’s too sad to see.
I watched the deer. The deer watched me. The earth as we know it stopped spinning. No one would believe me about Time stopping to sit down in my driveway and saying “Sherry, go ahead and soak up the moment.”
I considered the fact that you might not believe me about the deer, so I thought to take a photo. But Time and deer both took off before I could snap a shot. Sorry, I know how much you would have liked to see seven white-tails and Time in roper boots slipping away from me in early morning light. Trust me, it was real.
When I arrived at work, I stopped to visit with my boss. Father of four, leader of  five great businesses, deacon of his church, pillar of our society. He couldn’t have known this, but with his briefcase snapped open and propped against the file cabinet I was leaning against, I could see a set of two bushy eyebrows and a large red fake nose inside his briefcase. I smiled at him. He smiled back. I understand better why I enjoy working with him. Again, I have no photos to show you. Think of me working with Mr. Marx.
When I returned to my own office, a text from my son greeted me. Seems he had spent the evening with one Mr. Cooper, working a bit with him on his golf swing, sharing a bit of chat about the local courses and how to play into the winds we’ve been experiencing. Did I tell you he performs under the name of Alice? (Not my son, but Mr. Cooper). In Montana? I know, this is harder to believe than Time and seven deer taking five in my driveway. But naturally, I must ask you to believe in me and accept that there are no photos.
About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

5 responses to “>No Photos, Please

  1. >Was Alice in make-up? Your son is a golf pro? You didn't dare ask your boss where he was headed after work? I do take your word for it about the deer. Some moments are impossible to catch on film. There was a film at the Sundance Film Festival years ago about Alice B. Toklas and Gertrude Stein. Just about the whole movie was taken up by how amazing it was for Alice (played by Linda Hunt) to see this deer near the railroad track. Now the car, I would like a picture of. It would make me feel better about my car.

  2. >alice was undercover, i guess. my son was an assistant pro before he realized that working at what you love can ruin things. (see, that is why i write poetry for free . . .) yeah, my boss cracks me up, i am waiting for a good moment to ask about the red nose. i keep thinking he's going to surprise *me* with it. i practice my surprise looks just to be ready, ya know…..would love to see the film you wrote about. while deer are common, encountering them when you have your mind elsewhere is such a stilling moment. i have a poem i keep working on about a wounded deer we heard while hiking a trail. deer show up in my life just about the time i need to be nudged in a new direction. now the vehicle (jack)- i took a photo for you last night before it started to snow here. and a photo of balue after his accident. i'll post them soon so you can feel better. good to hear from you(!)

  3. >Much Muchness here, Sherry. For example, I was expecting you'd find something much worse in the briefcase. Relieved that you did not. šŸ˜‰

  4. >melanie- you have a solid muchness radar, so i am happy to hear this post found you. thank you. yeah, not only was it a relief to not find something squirmy in his briefcase, but now, it's been a wonderful surprise.

  5. >The Gertrude Stein movie is called Waiting For the Moon.

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

