>the high horse and the back-up pony

>

A few weeks ago, I traded my pony for funds to help me purchase the Tugboat Book. At the time, I was reminded pioneer women never give up their ponies. My reply? It was my back-up pony I traded. Not to worry, I keep my original pony at all costs. (No photos, please.)
Funds were handed over to Amazon. Book was handed over to UPS. UPS showed up the day I was leaving town. I weighed the book, wondering if perhaps I could afford to fly with a sixteen-pound book in my carry-on. I left it home and had a wonderful time away from the book, knowing it would be on my nightstand when I returned home.
In telling a friend about this dream-come-true book (you may need to click on the “Tugboat Book” link up above if you are still fuzzy about why this is a dream-come-true for me), I was scolded about never getting off my high horse. Why hadn’t I let him know I wanted this book, that I wanted to be a tugboat pilot, that I wanted wanted wanted. I was just to say the word and as a friend, he would help me. I wouldn’t have had to trade my back-up pony for the $2.32 I was short in purchasing the book if I would have talked to him first.
So now, I am short a back-up pony, but I am off my high-horse. I own my own Tugboat Book and have learned a lasting lesson. If we care about our friends, then we must open up enough so they may help us as we seek help. It’s all about bonding, I am told.
I am not sure if I’ve learned the entire lesson, though. I can be a bit hardheaded. I think I may ask for more bonding and for a trip to Nova Scotia where the becalming waters can be fully experienced under the tug of four knots.
(*becalming* is the new word I’ve learned since this book has come into my life.)
About redmitten

author of Cracking Geodes Open, Making Good Use of August, and The Peppermint Bottle. poetry editor for IthacaLit. website: https://toomuchaugust.wordpress.com

2 responses to “>the high horse and the back-up pony

  1. >Becalming. I think that should be one of the reaction boxes we can check off at the end of your posts, and…if you're off your high-horse, maybe you can sell that.

  2. >one cannot find becalming waters while on one's high-horse, and so i'm no longer riding that pony.the market for a high-horse is at once iffy and effy. i fear he may have no market-value.

and then you said:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

